Action Groups are meant to fund targeted groups working towards the production of well-defined products. Unlike the former Working Groups, Action Groups are funded on a competitive basis at up to 2500 € per year (maximum of 5000 € over the life of an Action Group). Up to 10 000 € per year of the IPA total budget will be devoted to Action Groups. These groups have limited terms and focus on clearly defined research outputs, such as maps, science plans, or databases, that can be supported through the organization of workshops, management support, technical support, etc.

A call for applications will be announced by the Secretariat, typically in the fall.

 

Currently sponsored Action Groups:

Arctic Permafrost Transects
Contact: D. A. "Skip" Walker - dawalker(at)alaska.edu

Overseeing the production of the next generation of IPA global permafrost mapping product and service
Contact: Philip Bonnaventure - philip.bonnaventure(at)uleth.ca

The InterFrost Evaluation Platform
Contact: Christophe Grenier - christophe.grenier(at)lsce.ipsl.fr
Application summary

A Frozen­‐Ground Cartoon: Explaining international permafrost research using comic strips
Contact: Frédéric Bouchard - frederic.bouchard(at)cen.ulaval.ca
Application summary

Permafrost and Culture (PaC): Integrating environmental, geo-, and social sciences to assess permafrost dynamics and indigenous land use
Contact: Mathias Ulrich - mathias.ulrich(at)uni-leipzig.de; Otto Habeck - Otto.habeck(at)uni-hamburg.de

 

Completed Action Groups:

The Yedoma Region: A Synthesis of Circum-Arctic Distribution and Thickness (2015-2016)
Contact: Jens Strauss - Jens.Strauss(at)awi.de
Application summary

Arctic Coastal Web Implementation: Circum-Arctic Coastal Erosion Database Publication in Anticipation of the Coastal Permafrost in Transition Side Meeting at the ICOP2016 (2015-2016)
Contact: Boris Radosavljevic - Boris.Radosavljevic(at)awi.de
Application summary

Specification of a Permafrost Reference Product in Succession of the IPA Map (2013-2016)
Contact: Stephan Gruber - StephanGruber(at)cunet.carleton.ca
A final report of this Action Group's activities can be found here: Action Group Report

Permafrost Research Priorities: A Roadmap for the Future (2014-2015)
Contact: Hugues Lantuit - hugues.lantuit(at)awi.de
Application summary

Subsea Permafrost Mapping Data Initiative (2012-2014)
Contact: Paul Overduin - Paul.Overduin(at)awi.de

New Assessment of the deep Permafrost organic carbon pool using the Northern Circumpolar Soil Carbon Database (2012-2014)
Contact: Gustaf Hugelius - gustaf.hugelius(at)natgeo.su.se

Permafrost extension during the Last Glacial Maximum in the northern hemisphere and derived mean annual temperatures (2011-2014)
Contact: Jef Vandenberghe - jef.vandenberghe(at)falw.vu.nl
A final report of this Action Group's activities can be found here: Action Group Report

IPA-IASC-SCAR Workshop on the Global Terrestrial Network on Permafrost user requirements definition (2011-2012)
Contact: Hugues Lantuit - hugues.lantuit(at)awi.de; Hanne Christiansen - Hanne.Christiansen(at)unis.no

More information regarding Action Group activity can be found in our annual bulletin, Frozen Ground.